Travel to Massachusetts
Effective August 1, 2020, all visitors and returning residents entering Massachusetts must follow new travel orders. The Commonwealth has made great progress to slow the spread of COVID-19 and gradually re-open the economy, and all visitors have a responsibility to help us keep transmission levels as low as possible.
All visitors entering Massachusetts, including returning residents, who do not meet an exemption, are required to:
- Complete the Massachusetts Travel Form prior to arrival, unless you are visiting from a lower-risk state designated by the Department of Public Health.
- Quarantine for 14 days or produce a negative COVID-19 test result that has been administered up to 72-hours prior to your arrival in Massachusetts.
If your COVID-19 test result has not been received prior to arrival, visitors, and residents must quarantine until they receive a negative test result.
Failure to comply may result in a $500 fine per day.
Please find more information below, including the list of lower-risk states, exemptions, business guidance and other details. Prior to the effective date, the existing travel policy can be found here.
Why is it important to quarantine if I have been traveling?
Quarantine separates and restricts the movement of people who have traveled to an area of local transmission (a place that has an active outbreak) where they could have been exposed to Covid-19.
The 14 days of quarantine allow enough time to see if there is any manifestation of the virus, if the person presents symptoms. The “incubation period” is the time between catching the virus and beginning to have symptoms of the disease. Most estimates of the incubation period for COVID-19 range from 1-14 days, most commonly around five days.