Be sure to keep your mailing address updated. In the Commonwealth of Massachusetts all responsibility falls to the taxpayer to provide the correct mailing address to the Tax Collector’s Office. Failure to receive a bill does not stay the interest or penalty.
Submit any changes of address in writing or via email. Assessor’s office or the Tax Collector’s office: 37 Washington St. Nantucket, MA 02554
To change your mailing address on a Motor Vehicle Excise Tax bill you must contact the Registry of Motor Vehicles directly. Please call 617-351-4500, fax 617-351-9524, or visit their website.
Know when taxes are due. We are now on a quarterly billing cycle. The due dates are normally as follows:
1st Quarter: Due August 1
2nd Quarter: Due November 1
3rd Quarter: Due February 1
4th Quarter: Due May 1
The third quarter bill was the actual bill and you had 30 days from the date of issue to apply for an abatement. You have 90 days from the date of issue of the third quarter bill to apply for the Residential Exemption. For more information on abatements and exemptions please contact the Assessor's Office at 508-228-7200 option 2.
New Property Owners
If you are a new property owner, be aware that the real estate tax bill will be issued in care of you. The previous owner’s name remains on the real estate tax bill for at least one year as required by Massachusetts General Law (MGL) Chapter 59, Section 11.