Nantucket Planning & Economic Development Commission (NP&EDC)

The next NP&EDC Meeting will be held on 

Monday, November 8, 2021 at 5pm via Zoom Webinar

About the Commission

The NP&EDC was created by Warrant Article 5 of the January 25, 1973 Special Town Meeting of the Town of Nantucket and by the Commonwealth of Massachusetts pursuant to Chapter 561 of the Acts of 1973, as amended by Warrant Article 117 of the 1980 Annual Town Meeting and Chapter 98 of the Acts of 1981 and Warrant Article 57 of the Annual Town Meeting of 1991 and Chapter 458 of the Acts of 1991, and by Chapter 81 of the Acts of 2011, and by Chapter 347 of the Acts of 2018. NP&EDC is the only regional planning agency (RPA) representing one town, the Town of Nantucket.

In Section 1 of the enabling legislation, the commission was established In order to plan for the orderly and coordinated development and protection of the physical, social and economic resources of the Island of Nantucket.

In Section 2, the Commission shall be responsible for the preparation of comprehensive plans for the physical, social, and economic development of said County and Town and shall make recommendations for action to implement said plans to the responsible county and town agencies. Such plans shall include, but not be limited to, the preparation of studies, research reports and maps of natural resources, land utilization, economic development, recreation and conservation, transportation and population characteristics.

In Article 5, 1973 STM, "Such commission shall plan for the future of the villages of Wauwinet, Quidnet, Siasconset, Surfside, Madaket, Pocomo, Tom Nevers, Dionis, Cisco and the Town of Nantucket and make any recommendations it deems beneficial.

Agendas & Minutes

Agendas are available prior to the meetings. Minutes are available following approval. (**note that the published meeting schedule is subject to change**)

Most Recent Agenda (PDF) | View All Agendas and Minutes


  • 5 elected Planning Board members - 5 year term 
  • 1 appointee from each of the following: County Commission, Conservation Commission, and the Housing Authority - 1 year term
  • 3 At-Large members – 3 year term

Nathaniel Lowell, Chair (Planning Board)
Term expires: 2022

Fritz McClure, Vice-Chair (Planning Board)
Term expires: 2023

Dave Iverson (Planning Board)
Term expires: 2024

Judith Wegner (Planning Board)
Term expires: 2025

John Trudel, III (Planning Board)
Term expires: 2026

Kristie Ferrantella (County Commissioners)
Term expires: 2021

Maureen Phillips (Conservation Commission)
Term expires: 2021

Bertyl Johnson (Housing Authority)
Term expires: 2021

Charles J. "Jack" Gardner (At-Large)
Term expires: 2022

Wendy Hudson (At-Large)
Term expires: 2023

Mary Longacre (At-Large)
Term expires: 2024

Helpful Information