Community Preservation Committee

Regular Meetings
  • 3:15 p.m.
  • 3rd Tuesday of each month
  • 4 Fairgrounds Road
    Nantucket, Ma 02554
Agendas & Minutes
Agendas are available prior to the meetings. Minutes are available following approval.
Most Recent Agenda | View All Agendas and Minutes


NAME                                                 COMMITTEE                                       TERM ENDING

BARRY RECTOR                              PLANNING BOARD                                   2019

T.B.D.                                                 PARK AND RECREATION                        2019

LINDA WILLIAMS                              HOUSING AUTHORITY                            2019

DAWN HILL HOLDGATE                   SELECT BOARD                                       2019

MARIA ZODDA                                  AT-LARGE                                                 2021

TIMOTHY SOVERINO                       AT-LARGE                                                 2021

KEN BEAUGRAND                            LAND BANK                                              2019

IAN GOLDING                                   CONSERVATION COMMISSION              2019

DIANE COOMBS                               HDC                                                           2019

About the Committee

The Community Preservation Committee is established in accordance with Massachusetts General Law Chapter 44B, sections 3-7. The committee consists of 9 members. The members include an appointed designee from each of the following: the Conservation Commission; the Historic District Commission; the Land Bank; the Planning Board; the Park and Recreation Commission; the Nantucket Housing Authority; and the Board of Selectmen. There are also 2 members-at-large from the community.

The Community Preservation Committee studies the needs, possibilities and resources of the town regarding community preservation. The committee consults with various agencies, organizations and/or individuals, and particularly those represented on the committee, in conducting such studies. The committee makes recommendations to town meeting for: the acquisition, creation and preservation of open space; for the acquisition and preservation of historic resources; for the acquisition, creation and preservation of land for recreational use; for the creation, preservation and support of community housing; and for rehabilitation or restoration of such open space, historic resources, land for recreational use and community housing that is acquired or created as provided in this section. With respect to community housing, the committee recommends, whenever possible, the reuse of existing buildings or construction of new building on previously developed sites.

The committee makes recommendations to town meeting for funding community preservation acquisitions, initiatives and administration. The committee may propose appropriations or reservations from fund financing sources for specific projects or categories of projects, or for other purposes that are consistent with community preservation but for which sufficient revenues are not then available in the Community Preservation Fund.

As part of its study, the committee holds at least one public information hearing on the needs, possibilities and resources of the town regarding community preservation possibilities and resources of the town.

Helpful Information