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REGULATIONS 77.00

RESTRICTING THE SALE OF TOBACCO PRODUCTS AND NICOTINE DELIVERY
PRODUCTS

77.01 Statement of Purpose:

Whereas there exists conclusive evidence that tobacco smoking causes cancer,
respiratory and cardiac disease, negative birth outcomes, irritation of the eyes,
nose and throat;

Whereas among the 15.7% of students nationwide who currently smoke
cigarettes and were less than 18 years old,14.1% usually obtain them by buying
them in a store (i.e. convenience store, supermarket, or discount store) or gas
station;

Whereas nationally in 2009, 72% of high school smokers and 66% of middle
school smokers were not asked to show proof of age when purchasing cigarettes;

Whereas the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services has concluded that
nicotine is as addictive as cocaine and heroin;

Whereas state laws prohibiting the sale of tobacco products to minors, access by
minors to tobacco products is a major public health problem;

Whereas many non-cigarette tobacco products, such as cigars and cigarillos, can
be sold in a single “dose;” enjoy a relatively low tax as compared to cigarettes; are
available in fruit, candy and alcohol flavors; and are popular among youth;

Whereas according to the CDC’s youth risk behavior surveillance system, the
percentage of high school students in Massachusetts who reported the use of
cigars within the past 30 days went from 11.8% in 2003 to 14.9 % in 2009;



Whereas survey results show that more youth report that they have smoked a

- cigar product when it is mentioned by name, than report that they smoke cigars

in general, indicate that cigar use among youth is underreported;

Whereas in Massachusetts, youth use of all other tobacco products, including
cigars, rose from 13.3% in 2003 to 17.6% in 2009, and was higher than the rate of
current cigarette use (16%) for the first time in history;

Whereas research shows that increased cigar prices significantly decreased the
probability of male adolescent cigar use and a 10% increase in cigar prices would
reduce use by 3.4%;

Whereas nicotine levels in cigars are generally much higher than nicotine levels in
cigarettes;

Whereas non-residential Roll-Your-Own (RYO) machines located in retail stores
enable retailers to sell cigarettes without paying the excise taxes that are imposed
on conventionally manufactured cigarettes. High excise taxes encourage adult
smokers to quit and high prices deter youth from starting. Inexpensive cigarettes,
like those produced from RYO machines, promote the use of tobacco, resulting in
a negative impact on public health and increased health care costs, and severely
undercut the evidence based public health benefit of imposing high excise taxes
on tobacco;

Where it is estimated that 90% of what is being sold as pipe tobacco is actually
being used in Non-Residential RYO machines. Pipe tobacco shipments went from
11.5 million pounds in 2009 to 22.4 million pounds in 2010. Traditional RYO
tobacco shipments dropped from 11.2 million pounds to 5.8 million pounds; and
cigarette shipments dropped from 308.6 billion sticks to 292.7 billion sticks
according to the December 2010 statistical report released by the U.S.
Department of the Treasury Alcohol and Tobacco Tax and Trade Bureau;

Whereas the sale of tobacco products and nicotine delivery products are
incompatible with the mission of health care institutions because these products
are detrimental to the public health and their presence in health care institutions



undermine efforts to educate patients on the safe and effective use of
medications, including cessation medications;

Whereas educational institutions sell tobacco products to a younger population,
who is particularly at risk for becoming smokers and such sale of tobacco
products and nicotine delivery products are incompatible with the mission of
educational institutions that educate a younger population about social,
environmental and health risks and harms;

Now, therefore it is the intention of the Board of health of the Town of Nantucket
to regulate the sale of tobacco products and nicotine delivery products.

77.02 Authority:

This regulation is promulgated pursuant to the authority granted to the Nantucket
Board of Health by Massachusetts general Laws Chapter 111, Section 31 that
“Boards of Health may make reasonable health regulations”.

77.03 Definitions:

For the purpose of this regulation, the following words shall have the following
meanings:

Blunt Wrap- Any tobacco product manufactured or packaged as a wrap or as a
hollow tube made wholly or in part from tobacco that is designed or intended to
be filled by the consumer with loose tobacco or other fillings.

Business Agent — An individual who has been designated by the owner or
operator of any establishment to be the manager or otherwise in charge of said
establishment.

Cigar- Any roll of tobacco that is wrapped in leaf tobacco or in any substance
containing tobacco with or without a tip or mouthpiece not otherwise defined as
a cigarette under Massachusetts general law, Chapter 64C, Section 1, Paragraph
1.




E-Cigarette — Any electronic nicotine delivery product composed of a mouthpiece,
heating element, battery and/or electronic circuits that provides a vapor of liquid
nicotine to the user, or relies on vaporization of solid nicotine or any liquid. This
term shall include such devices whether they are manufactured as e-cigarettes, e-
cigarettes, e-pipes or under any other product name.

Educational Institution — Any public or private college, school, professional school,
scientific or technical Institution, university or other institution furnishing a
program of higher education.

Employee — Any individual who performs services for an employer.

Employer — Any individual, partnership, association, corporation, trust or other
organized group of individuals that uses the services of one {1) or more
employees.

Health Care Institution — An individual, partnership, association, corporation or
trust or any person or group of persons that provides health care services and
employees health care providers licensed, or subject to licensure, by the
Massachusetts Department of Public Health under M.G.L. c¢. 112 or a retail
establishment that provides pharmaceutical goods and services and is subject to
the provisions of 247 CMR 6.00. Health care institutions include, but are not
limited to, hospitals, clinics, centers, pharmacies, drug stores, doctors offices and
dentists offices.

Minor — Any individual who is under the age of Twenty-one (21).

Nicotine Delivery product — Any manufactured article or product made wholly or
in part of a tobacco substitute or containing nicotine that is expected or intended
for human consumption, but not including a product approved by the United
States Food and Drug Administration for sale as a tobacco use cessation or harm
reduction product or for other medical purposes and which is being marketed and
sold solely for that approved purpose. Nicotine delivery products include, but are
not limited to, e-cigarettes.



Non-Residential Roll-Your-Own (RYO) Machine- A mechanical device made
available for use (including to an individual who produces cigars, cigarettes,
smokeless tobacco, pipe tobacco, or roll-your-own tobacco solely for the
individual’s own personal consumption or use) that is capable of making
cigarettes, cigars or other tobacco products. RYO machines located in private
homes used for solely personal consumption are not Non-Residential RYO
machines.

Permit Holder — Any person engaged in the sale or distribution of tobacco or
nicotine delivery products directly to consumers who applies for and receives a
Tobacco and Nicotine Delivery Product Sales Permit or any person whao is required
to apply for a Tobacco and Nicotine Delivery Product Sales Permit pursuant to
these regulations, or his or her business agent,

Retail Tobacco Store — An establishment that is not required to possess a retail
food permit whose primary purpose is to sell or offer for sale to consumers, but
not for resale, tobacco products and tobacco paraphernalia, in which the sale of
other products is merely incidental, and in which the entry of persons under the
age of 18 is prohibited at all times, and maintains a valid permit for the retail sale
of tobacco products as required to be issued by the Nantucket Board of Health.

Self-Service Display — Any display from which customers may select a tobacco
product or a nicotine delivery product without assistance from an employee or
store personnel.

Tobacco Product — Cigarettes, cigars, chewing tobacco, pipe tobacco, bidis, snuff
or tobacco in any of its forms.

Vending Machine — Any automated or mechanical self-service device, which upon
insertion of money, tokens or any other forms of payment, dispenses or makes
cigarettes, any other tobacco product or nicotine delivery product.




77.04 Tobacco and Nicotine Delivery Products sales to Minors Prohibited:
1. No person shall sell tobacco or nicotine delivery products or permit tobacco or

nicotine delivery products to be sold to a minor; or not being the minor’s parent
or legal guardian, give tobacco or nicotine delivery products to a minor.

2. Required Signage;
a. In conformance and in addition to Massachusetts General law, Chapter
270, Section 7, a copy of Massachusetts general law, Chapter 270, Section
6, shall be posted conspicuously by the owner or other person in charge
thereof in the shop or other place used to sell tobacco products at retail.
The notice shall be provided by the Massachusetts Department of Public
Health and made available from the Nantucket Board of Health. The
notice shall be at least 48 square inches and shall be posted conspicuously
by the permit holder in the retail establishment or other place in such a
manner so that it may be readily seen by a person standing at or
approaching the cash register. The notice shall directly face the purchaser
and shall not be obstructed from view or placed at a height of less than 4
feet or greater than 9 feet from the floor. The owner or other person in
charge of a shop or other place used to sell tobacco products at retail shall
conspicuously post any additional signs required by the Massachusetts

Department of Public Health.

b. The owner or other person in charge of a shop or other place used to sell



nicotine delivery products at retail shall conspicuously post signage
provided by the Nantucket Board of Health that discloses current referral

information about smoking cessation.

c. The owner or other person in charge of a shop or other place used to sell

nicotine delivery products at retail shall conspicuously post a sign stating
“The sale of nicotine delivery products to minors under 18 years of age is

prohibited.” The owner or other person in charge of a shop or other place
used to sell e-cigarettes at retail shall conspicuously post a sign stating
“The use of e-cigarettes at indoor establishments may be prohibited by
local law.” The notice hall be no smaller than 8.5” by 11” and shall be
posted conspicuously in the retail establishment or other place in such a
manner so that they may be readily seen by a person standing at, or
approaching the cash register. These noticés shall directly face the
purchaser and shall not be obstructed from view or placed at a height of
less than 4 or more than 9 feet from the floor.

3. Identification: Each person selling or distributing tobacco or nicotine delivery
products shall verify the age of the purchaser by means of a valid government-
issued photographic identification containing the bearer’s date of birth that the
purchaser is 18 years old or older. Verification is required for any person under
the age of 27.



4. All retail sales of tobacco or nicotine delivery products must be face-to-face
between the seller and the buyer and occur at the permitted location.

77.05 Tobacco and Nicotine delivery Product Sale Permit:

1. No person shall seller otherwise distribute tobacco or nicotine delivery
products at retail establishments within the Town of Nantucket without first
obtaining a Tobacco and Nicotine delivery Product Sales Permit issued annually
by the Nantucket Board of Health. Only owners of establishments with a
permanent non-mobile location in Nantucket are eligible to apply for a permit and
sell tobacco products or nicotine delivery products at the specific location in
Nantucket.

2. As part o the Tobacco and Nicotine Delivery product sales permit application
process, the applicant will be provided with the Nantucket Board of Health
regulation. Each applicant is required to sign a statement declaring that the
applicant has read said regulation and that the applicant is responsible for
instructing any all employees who will be responsible to tobacco and nicotine
delivery product sales regarding federal, state and local laws regarding the sale of
tobacco and this regulation.

3. Each applicant who sells tobacco is required to provide proof of a current
tobacco sales license issued by the Massachusetts Department of revenue before
a Tobacco and Nicotine delivery Product Sales Permit can be issued.

4. The fee for a Tobacco and Nicotine Delivery Product sales permit shall be
determined by the Nantucket Board of Health.

5. A separate permit is required for each retail establishment selling tobacco
and/or nicotine delivery product.

6. Each Tobacco and Nicotine Delivery Product Sales permit shall be displayed at
the retail establishment in a conspicuous place.



7. No Tobacco and Nicotine Delivery product sales permit holder shall allow any
employee to sell tobacco products or nicotine delivery products until such
employee reads this regulation and federal and state laws regarding the sale of
tobacco and signs a statement, a copy of which will be on file in the office of the
employer, that he/she has read the regulation and applicable state and federal
laws.

8. A Tobacco and Nicotine Delivery Product sales Permit is non-transferable. A
new owner of an establishment that sells tobacco or nicotine delivery products
must apply for a new permit. No new permit will be issued unless and until all
outstanding penalties incurred by the previous permit holder are satisfied in full.

9. lIssuance of a Tobacco and Nicotine Delivery Product Sales Permit shall be
conditioned on an applicant’s consent to unannounced, periodic inspections of
his/her retail establishment to ensure compliance with this regulation.

10. A Tobacco and Nicotine Delivery product Sales permit will not be renewed if
the permit holder has failed to pay all fines issued and the time period to appeal
the fines has expired and/or has not satisfied any outstanding permit
suspensions.

77.06 Prohibition of the Sale of Blunt Wraps:

1. No person or entity shall sell or distribute blunt wraps on Nantuck

77.07 Out of package Sales:

1. The sale or distribution of tobacco products in any form other than an original
factory-wrapped package is prohibited. No person may sell or cause to be sold or
distributed or cause to be distributed any cigarette package that contains fewer
than twenty (20) cigarettes, including single cigarettes.




77.08 Self-Service Displays:

1. All self-service displays of tobacco products and/or nicotine delivery products
are prohibited. All humidors including, but not limited to, walk-in humidors must
be locked.

77.09 Vending Machines:

1. All tobacco and/or nicotine delivery product vending machines are prohibited.

77.10 Non-Residential Roll-Your-Own Machines:

1. All Non-Residential Roll-Your-Own machines are prohibited.

77.11 Violations:

1. It shall be the responsibility of the establishment, permit holder and/or his or
her business agent to ensure compliance with all sections of this regulation
pertaining to his or her distribution of tobacco and/or nicotine delivery products.
The violator shall receive:

a. In the case of a first violation, a dine of one hundred dollars {$100.00)

b. In the case of a second violation within 24 months of the date of the
current violation, a fine of two hundred dollars (5200.00} and the
Tobacco and Nicotine delivery Product Sales Permit shall be suspended
for seven (7) consecutive business days.

c. In the case of three or more violations with a 24 month period, a fine of

three hundred dollars ($300.00) and the Tobacco and Nicotine Delivery



product sales Permit shall be suspended for thirty (30} consecutive
business days.

2. Refusal to cooperate with inspections pursuant to this regulation shall result in
the suspension of the Tobacco and Nicotine Delivery Product sales permit for
thirty (30) consecutive days.

3. In addition to the monetary fines set above, any permit holder who engages in
the sale or distribution of tebacco or nicotine products directly to a consumer
while his or her permit is suspended shall be subject to the suspension of all
Board of Health issued permits for thirty (30) consecutive business days.

4. The Nantucket Board of Health shall provide notice of the intent to suspend a
Tobacco and Nicotine Delivery Product Sales permit, which notice shall contain
the reasons therefore and establish a time and date for a hearing which date shall
be no earlier than seven (7) days after the date of said notice. The permit holder
or its business agent shall have an opportunity to be heard at such hearing and
shell be notified of the Board of health’s decision and the reasons therefore in
writing. After a hearing, the Nantucket Board of Health shall suspend the Tobacco
and Nicotine delivery product Sales permit if the Board of Health finds that a
violation of this regulation occurred. For purposes of such suspension, the Board
shall make the determination notwithstanding any separate criminal or non-
criminal proceedings brought in court hereunder or under the Massachusetts
General Laws for the same offense. All tobacco products and nicotine deliver
products shall be removed from the retail establishment upon suspension of the
Tobacco and Nicotine delivery products Sales permit. Failure to remove all
tobacco and nicotine delivery products shall constitute a separate violation of this
regulation.

77.12 Non-Criminal Disposition:

1. Whoever violates any provision of this regulation may be penalized by the non-
criminal method of disposition as provided in Massachusetts General Laws,




Chapter 40, Section 21D or by filing a criminal complaint at the appropriate

venue.

Each day any violations exists shall be deemed to be a separate offense.

77.13 Enforcement:

1. Enforcement of this regulation shall be by the Nantucket Board of Health or its
designated agent(s).

2. Any resident who desires to register a complaint pursuant to the regulation
may do so by contacting the Nantucket Board of Health or its designated agent(s)
and the Board shall investigate.

77.14 Severability:

1. If any provision of these regulations is declared invalid or unenforceable, the
other provisions shall not be affected thereby but shall continue in full force and
effect.

Effective date:

This regulation shall take effect on July 1, 2014,

Amended December 13, 2018 (Effective December 28, 2018)



